Summer 2014 2719

FloralJoyDress

Dress: Joy; Sandals: Accessorize

EvilEyeMani

I decided to try this evil eye mani after seeing it in a Maison Bentley Style post. I loved it but it took about 2 and a half hours. The white varnish alone required about 4 coats. Also, my niece thought the eyes were snails! Stayed pretty well though.

Summer 2014 2033

Taking pictures out of a moving vehicle = abstract art.

Summer 2014 2072

This dress is about 20 years old I think, I stole it off my sister in law. The label says it’s lingerie though, so maybe I wasn’t supposed to wear it out! This dress is also my main excuse for never throwing anything away, as I kept it in my cupboard for years, trying it on occasionally, and it never suited me. One day I put it on, and loved it. I now wear it all the time in summer, or in winter with leggings and boots. Hoarding for President!

Summer 2014 2251

The Athinaion cinema, the last remaining cinema in Athens to display hand painted movie posters, still painted by the same man who has done them for over 60 years. He’s in his eighties now and this prompted a really fascinating conversation with the taxi driver, who was driving us when I took this photo, about dying arts. The driver had trained as a goldsmith, an art that had been passed down to him through several generations. He told us how sad it made him that he had no one to pass it on to, and that while everything can be done with computers and machines now, it didn’t change the fact that a craft had died. Would a machine know the exact length an earring stem needs to be to hold a specific weight earring whilst not hurting the woman, he asked? It was a really interesting conversation, and reminded me that people are never just what they seem.

Swimsuit: Marks & Spencer. I looove this swimsuit, I love the pattern, plus it has a built-in underwire- score!; Shorts: Warehouse; Bag: Accessorize;

Summer 2014 2432

My sister in her gorgeous Monsoon dress, on her way to a wedding.

BeachShop

Summer 2014 2820

Summer 2014 2716

I don’t know what this weird octopus plant is called but it made me smile.

Love,

The Styletterie