I went with my sister and boyfriend to the Vogue 100 exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery a couple of weeks ago. I was ridiculously proud of myself as I always intend to go to galleries and exhibits but somehow never get around to it. I think living in London all my life has ruined me, in the sense that there’s always so much cool stuff to go to that I never go to it, because I’m so secure in the knowledge that there will always be more cool stuff to come! Which makes no sense, but there we go.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it, despite not enjoying Vogue as a magazine all that much (too many ads, it just annoys me). The images are so creative and iconic though that it was really interesting to see so many of them in one place.

This was my favourite photograph…

Photo-by-Helmut-Newton-1974.

 

It was taken by Helmut Newton (in 1974 I think, it took me ages to find it online, and my research skills are somewhat hampered by my inherent laziness!), and I just love it. I’m not sure why this one tickled my fancy over all the others but something about it just appealed to me. Maybe because the dresses seem like something I could actually wear and look good in (as opposed to 99.9% of all clothes featured in Vogue ever), or maybe because it reminded me of sneaking out of parties (albeit slightly less glamorous ones!) to escape the mingling, and gossip with my sisters. 🙂

As always, however, the best part was the gift shop. :-p

IMG_5440

IMG_5424 (1)

 

 

IMG_5429

Hope everyone is having a good week!

Love,

The Styletterie

