Midsummer12

I was invited to an A Midsummer Night’s Dream themed birthday party last weekend by my friend (who honestly, if I had to describe in 10 words I would go with “most likely to have a Midsummer Night’s Dream themed party”). I had loads of ideas about what I was going to wear and of course tried everything on the night before, hated it all, and went with this instead.

Midsummer8

My room- perfectly illustrating why I shouldn’t be allowed to attend fancy dress parties.

Midsummer9

This being:

– Monsoon sequinned dress (last worn in Vegas a few years ago, with flats, bare legs and a belt.)

– Whistles sequinned capelet. I love this capelet, not only does it instantly make every outfit look amazing but it also marks the first time I ever went shopping with my mother without it ending up in a massive “That’s too slutty! No it isn’t! Yes it is!” argument. (My teens were a tiring time for my mother…)

– Pink butterfly veil from Asos, last worn (after a panic) at Ascot.

– Hugely heavy Accessorize earrings (last worn here)

– M&S tights and slightly pointy shoeboot heels (plus various anklets, bought in Monastiraki over the years. I adore these anklets, and bring them out every summer. They have little bells on them that jingle as I walk, which makes me so happy! :-D)

Midsummer15

Midsummer3

– Feathered bag from Asos and tiny butterfly bag I found in my cupboard, I think it was a gift from years ago. It fit my iphone perfectly, which was fantastic as it meant I could have it on me all evening while still having my hands free for Prosecco and snacks! 🙂

Midsummer14

Midsummer18

This is the dress without the capelet. I decided it had kind of a warrior fairy look to it, so it worked for the theme. I had actually bought kiddie fairy wings that I had hoped to customise/make less tacky but I ran out of time and decided that the capelet had a wing-like quality anyway so left it. It was actually a really good theme as it allows you to a.) look nice (fairy queens, woodland nymphs etc.) and b.) use mostly stuff that you already have. Most of the women were either Titania-ing it up with lots of face sequins, smeared on with Vaseline, and ethereal dresses (one woman wore fairy lights, and won the prize for best costume), while the rest simply wore floral outfits with flower hairbands and the like. The guys made even less effort (shocker! Although I was surprised nobody brought a donkey head…) and mostly wore a couple of flower hairclips or furry hats. My bf sprayed his hair green and wore a flower crown (both the dye and crown were from Claire’s Accessories.) He looked really cool actually, although I haven’t forgiven him yet for resisting my request that he wear eyeliner which I think would look amazing on him!

Midsummer6

Warning: the green spray went everywhere! Wrap yourself in a towel you don’t especially like and try and be as far from everything as possible. I sprayed it on him and we went through about 8 face wipes between us just trying to get it off our chests/arms/faces etc. It didn’t really show on skin but the wipes all came out neon yellow so it was definitely there! Also, my bathroom is now a weird colour.

Midsummer7

Make up wise, I put loads of gold glitter eyeshadow under my eyes and around my temples but unfortunately, it didn’t show as much as I’d hoped. I think I needed to get proper body glitter for that to work. I stuck on a couple of diamanté stickers I had, above my eyebrows, to try and look a bit more exciting, and then just did eyeliner and mascara as usual.

Midsummer13

I love the effect of the veil but my tips if you are ever planning on wearing one are:

– Don’t leave the house without straws. Straws are your best friend.

– Be prepared to be mocked for having a champagne glass with a straw in it.

– Don’t overdo the mascara or it will drag against the veil and you will end up twitching at people.

– Tuck it up and under when the food comes! Don’t even try and eat around it!

Midsummer

I bought some metallic transfer tattoos from Asos and put a few along the inside of my arm.

MND tattoos

Midsummer10

It was an amazing party- bunting and fairy lights everywhere (my friend basically bought out Tiger), fresh flowers all over, a cushion floor for lounging (my day began with instructions to come by in the afternoon with as many cushions as I could fit in my car – and 2 shoulders of lamb), the food was good and the drinks were flowing… We even had a competition where people acted out parts of A Midsummer Night’s Dream (making it officially the ponciest, yet most hilarious, party I have ever attended.) The sun even made an appearance as we arrived, meaning that it really did live up to its theme! 🙂

Midsummer5

Happy Hump Day everyone! (Man, I love bank holiday weeks, they feel so delightfully short!)

Love,

The Styletterie

