SelfishKimK

So I ordered Kim Kardashian’s selfie book…

photo 1 (55)

Thank you Amazon 🙂

As soon as I heard of this book’s existence, I knew I wanted it. The first (of many, probably) actual selfie book.

While I wouldn’t describe myself as the world’s biggest Kim K-W fan, I do like her (sue me) and I find her kind of fascinating. (Much like Paris Hilton before her, who I was really into when I was a teenager.) There’s just something about the ability to make so much out of essentially a pretty face, a great body and a willingness to share that’s interesting, and admirable. After all, plenty of people have all those things and other gifts besides. But the rise of the Kardashians tells us so much about society and celebrity and social media and media in general, that it’s hard to not be intrigued by them. Especially because Kim herself is not actually that interesting. She’s not a wild-child. On the show, her dramas are pretty pedestrian, just better dressed versions of what we all go through (with the notable exception of her infamous 2nd marriage.) Even her relationship and marriage to Kanye West is only interesting through the pretty pictures and the fact that he, for all his faults, is an undeniably original and unusual bloke (to put it mildly).There was no drama to it at all, and all we ever hear are soundbites of their wedded bliss. By all accounts, she’s unfailingly polite, and hardly ever shares any opinions that could even come close to controversy. So, what’s the fascination?

For me, I think it stems from the sheer shamelessness of her vanity. (And I don’t mean that as a criticism.) Even the name of the book is unabashedly, unashamedly, gloriously vain.

Maybe it’s to do with having been brought up in Britain (and by old fashioned parents too),but the idea of declaring myself to be good at something, or attractive, or sexy is impossible to understand. Not that I lack self-worth or confidence, just that fishing for compliments, or ‘boasting’, is just Not Done.

Selfies and social media didn’t exist when I was a teenager (thank goodness!) but I certainly take lots now. We all want to chronicle our looks and feel attractive.  And I’ve always been concerned with my appearance, and wanted to look as nice as I could. But even now, any pictures of me on Facebook have to look attractive of course (I’m a champion de-tagger), but not like I think I’m attractive. Does that make sense? I seldom put up selfies as I (a clearly very old person! :-p) would be mortified if anyone I knew thought (ok, knew) that I had spent time taking photos of myself, with the intention of looking hot. (Also, selfies aren’t really my best angle… my face benefits from a bit more distance than my arms can manage!)The idea that I was taught was that you had to be unconsciously attractive/clever/kind etc. If you knew you were any of the good things you wanted to be, it detracted from them. Modesty was key. And so, the more modern/American view of not feeling the need for false humility and not being ashamed to be openly proud of yourself and your appearance is something I am completely mesmerised by (and a little bit jealous of)!

I really didn’t know I had this much to say on the subject…

(This is certainly more writing than can be found in the book!)

SelfishK2

The book itself is as you’d expect. It does exactly what it says on the tin. It is a hefty tome, stuffed with pictures of Kim pouting, Kim looking serene, Kim with other people and Kim looking sexy. There is actually a “sexy” bit in the middle, where the pages are black instead of white and she is either naked or underwear-clad.

KimKSelfish2

KimSelfish

A lot of the photographs are ones we’ve already seen, but some are new. There are a few captions here and there, but nothing beyond the usual Instagram captions that accompany her pictures. It’s not trying to be Alexa’s “It”- it’s simply an anthology of her face and body.

KimSelfish2

KimKSelfish

photo (18)

Verdict:

– This book is not going to change your life.

– It’s attractively packaged, and will look nice on a coffee table. (Although it’s smaller and thicker than most coffee table books)

– Is it vacuous? Yes, of course it is. We all knew it would be.

But so did Kim, and that’s the point…

KimSelfishbook2

And then, because it just seemed rude not to, I put on a tiara and took selfies:

Selfishselfie

😉

Have a great weekend!

Love,

The Styletterie

Ps. Read this for a much more detailed and entertaining review of the book!

