Ella Eyre1

I understand there is something on the twitternet called Woman Crush Wednesday, where one discusses a woman that one admires? (I should really join Twitter and/or Instagram, I am too young to be this curmudgeonly about technology.) Anyway, as it is Wednesday, I thought I should share what I was doing last Wednesday, which was being very pleasantly surprised watching Ella Eyre perform at The Roundhouse in Camden.

I was not an especially massive fan (I only knew her from her guest vocals on Rudimental’s “Waiting All Night”), but my friend invited me, I love gigs, and the Roundhouse is a cool venue. So, after bracing ourselves for the inevitable hair envy, off we went.

And were completely blown away! She was brilliant- great voice, I loved the songs, I was obsessed with her outfit and she seemed to be genuinely enjoying herself. I couldn’t get any decent pictures of her outfit so had to steal some off t’internet – I am never going anywhere without a black PVC capelet with gold tassels again! I also loved that she wore funky trainers instead of stilettos so that she could bounce around comfortably.

466480154

466480118

465924134 (1)

I’m also mega-crushing on her look in the video for “Gravity”, with DJ Fresh. I love turquoise and silver for summer!:

dj-fresh--ella-eyre-gravity-video-1423403717-hero-promo-0

Her support acts were really good too – Jake Isaac, who had a lovely voice, followed by Shift K3y, whose songs all sounded like covers of 90s songs that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. I don’t mean that as a criticism, as a 90s lover, I really enjoyed them! (I will however criticise his incredibly daft name!)

photo 2 EE

I wore:

photo 2 (2)EE2

photo 3EE

– My “Will Work For Candy” t-shirt, that I bought in the Sugar Factory in Vegas (it’s open all night, so cool! And also dangerous….)

– My trusty M&S treggings (one day I will do an OOTD not wearing them, honest!)

– Old choker necklace from the actual 90s (or possibly very early noughties)

– Chilli pepper necklace that was a freebie from a shop in Siena

– Random old black chain I had at home

– My new Marc by Marc Jacobs zip earrings, that were a Christmas present

– Old blue and gold bangles, from Accessorize

photo 5EE

photo 2

I also painted my nails pink with a layer of Barry M Croc Effect nail varnish (reviewed here):

photo 4 (2)EE2

But my absolute favourite thing about the gig? Gig earrings! I always try and buy some sort of merchandise at gigs as a souvenir, but usually you’re limited to ill-fitting men’s t-shirts, hugely tight women’s t-shirts, or plastic wristbands. There were actually loads of cool things on offer. Her trademark symbol is a crown-wearing lion, and they had canvas bags, onesies, phone cases, hoodies etc. with it on. But when I saw that they had earrings, I was sold!

photo 5 (2)EE2

photo 1 (1)EE

photo 1

photo 1 (2)EE2

photo 4 (1)EE

photo 5 (1)EE

photo 4EE

Ella Eyre- I salute your talent, I lust after your epic hair, and I will be buying your album 🙂

Happy Hump Day everyone!

Love,

The Styletterie

