Bday OOTDs

Because I think I’m the Queen, I decided that one birthday party this year simply wasn’t enough for me. So I had dinner and drinks with my friends a couple of weeks after my birthday, and then dragged them all to Ultimate Power night at The Electric Ballroom a couple of weeks after that. (Oh and I was also treated to a lovely meal by my family on the actual day :-p)

OOTDs:

My friend gave me this super-cool ice cream sundae/milkshake clutch from New Look and I wanted to wear it to our dinner, especially as we were having burgers so it fit the junk food theme. I basically planned the whole outfit around the clutch as I felt it needed clean lines and block colours to reach it’s full pop-art style potential. The blue playsuit is Rachel Roy for Macy’s, bought a few years ago in New York. I wore it with black tights and booties (both M&S), my trusty Asda cardi and some bright bangles a friend had given me ages ago.

photo 1 (62)

photo 4 (46)

photo 3 (60)

The hearty necklace is from Accessorize (my 4 year old niece has a matching one, which she demanded upon seeing mine, as it’s “little, just the right size” for her apparently! 🙂 )

The hearty earrings were a birthday present from over 10 years ago (it sometimes worries me how little my style changes!). The loom band bracelet was also thanks to my niece- it’s not enough to make one for her, I have to make them for everyone she knows, myself included! I was allowed to pick my own colours though (this was a big step!), and I actually wear it a lot.The gold hearty ring is Folli Follie (bought in Bicester a while back) and the other ring is vintage.

Sidebar: I just looked at the Folli Follie website and I am now in love with all their rings, especially the ‘Love and Fortune’ ones!

photo 1 (63)

photo 2 (61)

Nooooo…….! :-O

photo 1 (60)

My second (ok, third) party was a club night in Camden featuring all of the power ballads, all of the time! I wanted to channel an 80s rock chick vibe, as I knew most of the music would be from the era that gave us the best power ballads (and an alarming amount of saxophone). I plaited my hair during the day and back-combed and hair-sprayed it just before going out to try and make it bouffant and curly, and wore my new Fashion Union at Asos metallic dress (which was on sale 🙂 ) with a black belt, black tights and my Office ballet flats. (Comfort wins out over style if there’s going to be dancing – life’s too short!). I like mixing silver and gold so I added this Aldo necklace that was a birthday gift. There was some divided opinion about whether or not the necklace marred the neckline of the dress but I felt it added to the drama of the look so I went with it. I also wore my Marc by Marc Jacobs zip earrings that were my Christmas present from my bf and various black and gold bracelets.

photo 1 (61)

photo 4 (44)

I loved this dress instantly because it kind of reminds me of Michelle Pfeiffer’s dress in the final luau scene in Grease 2:

grease-2-finale

(If only I looked like Michelle Pfeiffer in it! And had my very own cool rider…)

photo 3 (58)

Power2

In keeping with the 80s theme, my eldest sister wore her Madonna-style cross earrings (for the first time since about 15 years ago, when I stole them from her :-p) and my middle sister somehow procured an inflatable boombox…

photo 3 (61)

photo 2 (62)

Power

If you’re in London and you enjoy sticky floors, fists of pure emotion, air guitar and singing so loudly you lose your voice, then I would heartily recommend this night – it was awesome! 😀

And after 3 birthday parties, my friends gently reminded me that I am not in fact the Queen, and so my birthday season (all of January) is over for another year.

Happy Thursday!

Love,

The Styletterie

