Travel OOTDs

I hate travelling so, for me, comfort is key when figuring out what to wear. Especially if there’s a plane involved.

Top right: I tend to wear trousers (stretchy, of course), as I like to be able to get myself into whatever position is comfy (not easy on a plane), which often seems to involve having my legs akimbo… (Leggings are always good too, I often wear them under short dresses and even maxi-dresses to ensure that all angles are covered!)

Loose black top: Urban Outfitters, who I have to say, I am seriously considering boycotting, considering how much dumb, offensive stuff they peddle. Which is a shame, as they often have really cool stuff too; Treggings: M&S; Hot pink jumper: Peacocks. I love this jumper as it’s super cosy and fun enough to make my outfit look like style went into the thought process as well as comfort. (Also, it makes me look tanned. I usually wear it on my way back from somewhere hot!); Plimsolls: Next.

Top left: Treggings: M&S again; Plain black top: H&M; Angel wing earrings: H&M; Floaty tie-up top: Primark. This is probably my all-time favourite travel outfit. It’s light and comfy, but also forgiving and a bit glamourous. I’ll never be one of those women who can wear heels and a tight little number to travel, but I do believe that it’s possible to look vaguely stylish and be comfortable at the same time. There’s no reason to raid the Cotton Traders catalogue every time you leave town!

PrimarktopOOTDs

L: Me in Cannes a couple of years ago, having just arrived, wearing the same top with a black stretchy jumpsuit. R: Me looking vaguely Biblical whilst punting (Ok fine, attempting to punt. It’s way harder than it looks!) in Oxford. I really do over-use this top, it’s a work staple too!

Crete 14 Tomatoes Noooo 010pp

WTF tee: Express, in NY.

Crete 14 Tomatoes Noooo 1338pp

White tee: (Another attempt at looking tanned.) Forever 21; Necklace: Anthropologie.

Nexttoptravel

Treggings: You guessed it, M&S; Sequin sleeve tee: Next; Plimsolls: Office; Necklace: Primark. I’m a big believer that you can get away with wearing almost anything as long as your accessories are good enough. It’s all in the details. (NB. the only downside to this is that you will have to spend a long time de-jewel-ing at Security but it’s a small price to pay!) Gold angel wing earrings: Rachel Roy for Macy’s. Easy-to-spot-at-Baggage-Reclaim suitcase: Maisie Moo at Debenhams.

TravelOOTDNY

Long sleeved white tee: Peacocks; 90s-esque dress: New Look; Gold angel wing earings: Rachel Roy again; Heart necklace: Accessorize; Gold ring with fly on it: vintage. I’m normally opposed to bug jewellery (except butterflies), but have made an exception for this ring as it’s kind of cute and also used to belong to my Grandmother. Plus, it fits in with my rule of wearing flying themed jewellery when getting on a plane, for luck.

Butterflyearings

Another example of flying jewellery! Butterfly earrings: Mikey.

– I also always take socks in my bag in case a.) it’s cold on the plane or b.) they make you take your shoes off to go through Security… :-/

– I always have a scarf, which can double up as a pillow or blanket, as needed.

– A lot of people suggest wearing red lipstick to help look more glamourous when travelling, which is an idea that I love. Unfortunately I tend to eat a lot when I travel (for some reason I can’t fly without at least 2 bags of crisps and a tube of Fruit Pastilles) so I’m not sure it would really work for me! You can’t go wrong with big celeb sunnies though…

Thanks for reading! Have a good week!

Love,

The Styletterie

