Glamour

Really? Really? REALLY?? What is this? I was flicking through Glamour the other night when I came across this and just had to share.

How stupid do they think we actually are? Ignoring the look on the left, which is actually ok, they want me to spend £810 so I can look like a homeless extra in a zombie movie? Or £709 so I can channel an Amish grandmother from the 70s? Are they serious?

Quite apart from the hilarious notion that anyone would spend £43 on decaying-flesh coloured socks, does anyone know anyone who would leave the house looking like this? Specifically the middle look. My parents often bemoan the whole “distressed” trend – for them the idea that someone would shell out for jeans that are already ruined is ridiculous – and for once I see their point. This is just a frumpy jumper (a frumper?) that has been dragged through the proverbial hedge backwards, teamed with old trackie bottoms and physics teacher shoes.* And it’s also apparently the “perfect weekend look”.

For £810.

I despair.

Love,

The Styletterie

*Don’t even get me started on the whole “ugly shoe” trend thing – Sometimes I feel like the fashion industry is just testing out how dumb we really are, for a laugh. (And a profit, obviously.)

(Ps. I’m sure Natalie Hartley is a nice lady, who usually looks better than this!)

