Dolly football

Last Saturday I went and saw Dolly Parton at The O2 with my sister and I officially have a new icon/muse/role model/ lady crush (girl crush doesn’t seem quite right!)/mentor! She was phenomenal, just 100% herself – cheesy, corny, tacky, preachy, chirpy, over-the-top and super-sweet. Her voice blew me away, it is so true and effortless it just pours out of her (I don’t believe the Glasto miming rumours at all). She played about 12 instruments, including the harmonica, fiddle, saxophone (after which she told us that she usually enjoys a cigarette after sax – haw haw), organ, guitar and several others I didn’t recognise at all. I have honestly never seen anyone so not concerned with being cool. She never tries to stay relevant, she never changes to fit the current fashion, she can laugh at herself, she is so completely fake yet totally honest and genuine about it. In short, I love her!

I obviously couldn’t resist the urge to theme my outfit around her awesomeness, so I foofed up my hair and wore:

Sequin dress: Oasis

Denim jacket: Gap, from when I was about 10!

Cowboy boots: My sister’s, from New Mexico

Earrings: Peacocks

Turquoise bracelet: Suite Blanco in Lisbon

D necklace: gift from my Dad, years ago

Dog2 Dress

 

photo 3 (22)

 

 

photo 3 (23)sis

 My sis, rocking the double denim!

 

20140628_205434_resized

 We are not worthy…

 

Dolly tees

 

So Saturday night was awesome and I was fully prepared for Sunday night to follow suit. I wore my Greece shirt, bought in 2004 (when we, ahem, WON the European championships!), and never seen since. Amazingly I actually found this is the first box I looked in, which NEVER happens and was pretty much the most exciting thing ever. Despite thinking that people who wear football shirts out in public at non-football related events should be locked up, I wore this out to brunch in the morning too, in case it brought us luck. I paired it with my Mum’s vintage skirt, my Primark leopard print shoes, my Aldo orange bag and pink lipstick to ensure that I still looked mildly feminine.

 

photo 3 (24)

 

 

photo 2 (22)

Unfortunately, despite ALL THIS EFFORT, we lost on penalties. What little interest I had in the World Cup has now left the building.

*sigh*

Have a great evening!

Love,

The Styletterie

photo 1 (17)

 

