Image

A bunch of us went to my friend’s house in the country last weekend for some nature (bleurgh) and some partying (yay). The main event was twenties themed (because apparently people aren’t bored of that yet). I have mixed feelings about the twenties as a fashion era (pearls and bling = good; drop waisted = WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO HURT ME?) but I fortunately have one twenties-esque dress (ie. it has tassels) that I wear every time this theme pops up. I also do OTT bling rather well, though I say so myself.

This is what I wore:

Dress: French Connection, about 4 years ago. There were no full length mirrors in the house so I was unable to get any decent pictures of it. But to sum up, it’s short, black and fun to swish in!

Deco tiara: Asos

Pearls: Various, some were from Christmas crackers, some were my Grandmother’s, some were from Oasis

Deco watch: Marks and Spencer

Bracelet: Swarovski, a present from my parents for my 21st. This also suffers from leaping off my wrist syndrome, like my other Swarovski bracelet.

Tassel earrings: Karen Millen

Pearl and bling cluster ring: Marks and Spencer

Bling rings: The teardrop one is Mikey and the round one was a gift from my Dad (I think he bought it from one of those aeroplane brochures)

Overuse of the word “bling”: model’s own

ImageI didn’t have time to do anything to my hair so I just threw in some kirby grips and topped it off with the tiara.

 

ImageI also wore some crystal studded tights (Marks & Spencer)

The shoes are from Aldo, and apparently I used to be able to walk in them! Sadly, this is no longer the case.

Image

ImageRed fur stole: Monsoon

 

ImageRed lipstick: Wet ‘n’ wild, from New York, 99 cents and still the best lipstick I’ve found. It does bleed a little as you can see but this photo was at the very end of the night, so I’d say it held up pretty well.

And speaking of the end of the night….

Image

What started as a little lie-down resembles the start of a Poirot episode to a worrying degree….

Disclaimer: nobody died in the making of this blog post.

 

Love,

The Styletterie

 

Ps. There was a prize for best costume. And I totally won 😀

 

 

 

