Image

The other day, my friend had a birthday party. Because she likes to cause trouble, her theme was the not very catchy “come-wearing-the-things-you-love-that-everybody-else-hates.”

Personally, I think it was all an elaborate scheme to enable her to wear her hideous mesh pastel brogue thingies.

This theme was a good one because we are a close-knit circle of friends who have known each other since we were 11. Trust me when I say, there is no clothes-related mockery that we haven’t subjected each other to. We all have very different styles (which I love- we’re best friends, not a “tribe”) and we all have opinions (which we just looove to share!)

Unfortunately, we couldn’t go all out with the crazy clothes as a.) we were actually going out and b.) she wanted us to star in a video project she was doing for work so we had to look reasonably normal. Fortunately, my most-ridiculed fashion item is the above pictured mustard yellow bag, which is pretty easy to weave in to any look. (Well, I think it is!) I found it several years ago, on sale in River Island, and I think it’s meant to be a make-up case, not a handbag, but for some reason I instantly loved it. (The phrase “Omg that’s so ridiculous, I have to have it!” is a common utterance for me). It was roundly derided and abused by all my friends (“Selfridges panettone” and “if Big Bird’s mother had a bag” being two of the more original descriptions) but I didn’t care. I enjoyed it, the impracticality of it appealed to my sense of whimsy and I’ve worn it loads! (It also, surprisingly,Β  turned out to be a total man magnet, but that’s another story for another time…)

But here’s my point: It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks. If you love something and wear it with confidence and a sense of humour, you will look cool. Fact. Loads of the outfits I used to mock my friends for are things I would totally wear now and anyway, how dull would it be if we all liked the same stuff? How would we ever be inspired, or delighted, or just plain amused?! So, never be afraid of wearing something ridiculous (or plain, if that’s your thing). Fashion is meant to be fun! And all the coolest people get mocked.

(That’s what I tell myself anyway…)

πŸ˜‰

Love,

The Styletterie

