ImageThe Oscars are my favourite night of the year! I love the build-up, the glamour, the selfies, the cringey co-presenting, the pizza, the fawning, the speeches, the tears, I love all of it! But most of all – I love the FASHION. Here are my favourite looks of Sunday’s 86th Annual Academy Awards…

-Kate Hudson in Atelier Versace. Stunning. Normally quite a boyish shape, this dress gave her incredible curves. She looked like a Hollywood goddess. I also loved how proud her parents looked when she walked on stage to present. Goldie Hawn looked gorgeous too!

Image

-Jared Leto. I’m not normally inspired by menswear at all to be honest but I thought Jared Leto looked great! I love the white jacket, the unexpected pop of red, I even love his beachy (but thankfully brushed) hair. He never lets you forget he’s a rock star but on Sunday, he walked the line between his personal rock style and Oscar-appropriate formalwear perfectly. (And Ellen was right, he was the prettiest one there!)

-Kerry Washington was perfection in Jason Wu. I wasn’t a huge fan of the crop top/skirt combo she wore at the SAGs (although I appreciate that she took a risk) but here she was flawless. The shape, the unusual colour, the lips, the hair, I wouldn’t have changed a thing. She looked utterly beautiful.

Image

-Sandra Bullock in Alexander McQueen. What a gorgeous shape on her! This is the kind of simple but stunning dress that says “I’m nominated so I’m kind of a big deal but I already have one at home so whevs.” It was exactly right for the occasion and her hair, make-up and jewellery (love the ear cuff) were perfect.

-Lupita Nyong’o in custom Prada. She said she chose this colour because it reminded her of Nairobi and what a choice because Nairobi looks damn good on her! This colour was luminous against her flawless skin, and I loved seeing her in something so fluid. I wasn’t certain about the hairband at first, but this whole look was so Cinderella that I just couldn’t begrudge her that finishing touch. Stunning, fresh and timeless.

-Amy Adams in Gucci. To be honest this dress is a little boring but she said it felt like “her” and I can’t blame her- it fits her like a glove! Not a stretch, wrinkle or crease in sight. It could not have skimmed her more beautifully, showing off her body whilst keeping it completely classy. If any dress ever fit me so perfectly, I would wear it too, dull or not.

Image

-Jennifer Garner in Oscar de la Renta. I really liked this (although it could maybe have been a bit more tailored to her waist). I thought it was pretty and fun and made her look tall, relaxed and beautiful. I much preferred it to last year’s weird fish dress!

-Meryl Streep (in Lanvin) always looks great. She plays it safe, opting for variations on the same theme every year. She likes to show off her shoulders which suits her and adds a nice dash of insouciance to her ensemble. She always looks glamourous and Oscar-worthy but not too OTT because a.) her performances and her grace stand alone and b.) she always has to act moderately embarrassed at the Oscars and her subdued but appropriate dresses strike just the right note of humility and poise.

-Gabourey Sidibe in Theia. I loved this- I loved the hot pink on her, I thought the shape was excellent, the neckline was just right and the embellishment at the waist was perfect. Top marks!

Image-Bette Midler! Who knew?! She looked amazing. The patterned Reem Acra gown was colourful, vibrant and totally suited her body and personality. And then she came out on stage to perform “Wind Beneath My Wings” (beautifully) in this subtly striped Alaia number and oh my goodness, she has the body of a 20 year old!

Image

-Pink in Elie Saab, Kelly Osbourne in Badgley Mischka (who had to change back into a different dress later as she couldn’t climb stairs in this one apparently!), June Squibb in Tadashi Shoji and Catherine Martin (I’m not sure who the gown is by) also all looked fabulous!

Image

And finally the lovely Ellen, the host, here with her wife Portia de Rossi. I liked all of Ellen’s suits but the final one, worn with a polo style shirt, was my favourite because it’s a look that she has completely made her own. I normally advocate trying new things when it comes to style but Ellen so clearly knows what she’s comfortable in, and I love that she sticks to her guns.

So, those were my best looks of the night! Stay tuned for the worst….

Love,

The Styletterie

