Image

So, I realise that my trip to New York was actually ages ago now, but I keep being distracted from blogging about it by a.) blogging about other things and b.) reading everyone else’s blogs which then inspires me which results in me wanting to blog which results in me noticing other people’s exciting looking blogs and you see where this is going.

So anyway, better late than never, right? (Or so I keep trying to convince my mother for whom my tardiness is nothing short of the Devil deliberately trying to upset her.)

Anyhoo, Day 3 dawned bright and crisp and off we headed through the Upper East Side…

Image

The gorgeous Cynthia Rowley shop

 Image

Apparently dog walking is big business on the Upper East Side…

…to The Metropolitan Museum of Art. (The fact that I had been to New York twice previously and not been inside a single museum was staring to move past embarrassing and into shame territory! I am also informed that next time, the Guggenheim is a must.)

This is what I wore:

 Image

Image

Plaid shirt that I’ve worn to death this winter: Forever 21

Love necklace: River Island

Image

Treggings: M&S

Leg warmers: M&S

Chunky boots: Office

Polka dot earrings: I think these were from Accessorize a few years ago

Duck ring: Whistles (one of my favourite places for jewellery, and surprisingly affordable. Well, compared to their clothes at any rate.)

The Met is an imposing building right opposite Central Park (and yes, before you ask, of course I took the obligatory posing-like-Blair-Waldorf pics on the steps.) It cost $25 to get in and it is huge. Our venture got off to an auspicious start when the man at the front desk complimented me on my necklace and told me that I should definitely check out the jewellery exhibition by JAR. Which I did. And it was breathtaking, such incredible and beautiful jewels! In every shape/permutation/colour imaginable. My favourite thing was probably the pearl, sapphire and blackened silver and gold sheep brooch, which I just adored, but truly everything was worth a second (and third and fourth and oh dear, I appear to have lost my boyfriend) look. So naturally I bought a couple of postcards before parting with $40 for the book as well. (I tend to get carried away in places like this, but I do love coffee table books and it is gorgeous!)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I LOVE this sheep so much!!!

After tearing myself away reluctantly, we went around, saw some amazing modern paintings, lots of stunning Greek sculptures, an incredible Baroque Christmas tree, room sized musical instruments and tons of jewellery from eons ago that I would totally wear now, as well as many other inspiring things too plentiful to mention.

Image

Image

Image

Image Mirror (the spooky face is mine) and creepy eyes (that my bf wants to superimpose onto spookyfacemirror to create nightmares for children for years to come)

MetjewelpicB2

Image 

The original gladiator sandals, in a fetching shade of gold. Not too sure about the individual metal toe cosies though….

 Image

I loved this hair adornment! Couldn’t you just see it becoming the next gotta-have-it statement piece?! Like, the new Rodarte barbed wire hairband? I genuinely found it fascinating how much of the jewellery and ornaments from literally thousands of years ago are still inspiring the things we use/love today!

Anyway, I heartily recommend it. And I haven’t even mentioned the gift shop!

Image

 We walked through Central Park for a bit, which was lovely (the weather was pretty mild which was great but literally the day after we returned to London, the web was awash with photos of Central Park as an idyllic snow-covered winter wonderland, which would have been cool to see.)

 Image

Coat: French Connection

Scarf (tied around bag): Zara

Tree: vintage

Then we took the subway to Harlem to have lunch at Dinosaur BBQ. Apparently, it’s considered a little, ahem, “mainstream” to go there now (*sigh* I remember a more innocent time) but seriously, it was amazing! So delicious, definitely some of the best BBQ I’ve ever had, and by far the best I had while I was in NY.

Image

Sorry for the massive picture and description overload!

Thanks for stopping by!

Love,

The Styletterie

