Image

So, as promised, here are some pictures of what I bought at the Brooklyn Flea market! First up, I spent about half an hour trying on every necklace at the first stall I saw, before settling on the 2 (above) I was afraid to put down lest someone else picked them up. I loved them immediately and left feeling very smug when I realised that I had bought 2 gorgeous pieces for less than half what I would have spent on one necklace in J.Crew, current reigning queen of statement necklaces!

I bought these earrings for a friend, who always brings me cool stuff whenever she goes abroad:

Image

I also purchased this ring and this super-cool vintage (late 50s/early 60s) kiddie sewing machine (that still works! Just.) that I regrettably relinquished to a very good friend who I had for Secret Santa. At least I get to visit it… (and the look on her face as she tried to figure out who would get her a big box of old cat food for Christmas was priceless…)

Image

After the flea market, we took the subway to Park Slope, where we (shockingly) did more shopping!

First stop, Guvnor’s:

Image

Guvnor’s is a very cool, big shop with loads of awesome things. I could happily spend the day there frolicking with my girlfriends! I came away empty handed however as it was mostly clothes and I have to be honest- vintage clothes shopping isn’t really my thing. I always see people with amazing clothes scored that way but for me the whole scouring-through-every-item-of-clothing-in-a-shop-on-the-off-chance-that-the-thing-you-like-happens-to-be-in-your-size thing is just too time consuming and depressing!

Then we wandered around, stopping (my boyfriend claims) in every shop. I bought these:

Image

I loved that shop, and could have bought way more stuff but managed to restrain myself. (The fake Burberry giraffe hairclip was possibly unnecessary but hey, it was $6. And adorable.)

I saw lots of floppy brimmed hats and tried on every one but it turns out that Americans have ginormous heads (nothing to do with me being a pinhead, you understand) and so they were all way too big.

Image

I did, however, get this gorgeous purple hat/hairband thing (hatband? I’m going with hatband) from a shop called Teddy which is super-cosy:

Image

Then we headed back to the hotel, changed (into this:)

qualitymeat outfit 2

Image

…and headed to Quality Meats for our token blow-out meal of the holiday. The decor was nice (very “New York”, lots of exposed brick and wires, all very warehouse-esque etc.), the door people were lovely (I got complimented on my new necklace :-D) and the steak was gooood. Our waiter was a bit stern though, and corn creme brulee is exactly as disgusting as it sounds!

And that was Day 2!

Thanks for stopping by!

Image

Love,

The Styletterie

